The Perfectionist.

I’ve been reading this book recently about unblocking and rediscovering your creativity. It’s much more interesting than that but it’s the easiest in-a-nutshell description I can think of! I read something this morning that jumped out and said, “That’s YOU!”

The author said, “The perfectionist creates/writes/draws/paints etc. with one eye on his or her audience. The perfectionist creates while grading the assignment.” And that is exactly what happened to this blog. I rarely wrote with the freedom of “me.” I mostly wrote with one eye on you. I like you, my imaginative audience, so please don’t be offended! The point is, I stopped creating for me. I stopped enjoying the process. I censored and edited the fun and heart right out of this blog, which I loved once upon a time.

Will I write again? I don’t know. I’ve been toying with it taking it up again or creating a new anonymous blog where I can write to my heart’s content and not worry about what anyone is thinking of me. At least, though, I am making strides to heal from life’s disappointments and pain and I’m feeling the desire to create again. Maybe this time I won’t be such a perfectionist.

Leave a comment